Q & A with Lisa McInnis, Ontario’s newest studio owner


Meet Lisa McInnis, a Bikram Yoga teacher from the Spring 2008 training who is moving fast to open the first Bikram Yoga studio in Mississauga. Her perfect smile and friendly charms won her the crown of Miss Niagra in 2001, which is now her nick name among friends and co-workers who often borrow her tiara at dinner parties. Here is your first introduction to Ontario’s newest studio owner….

Is it Betty Crocker? Nope, thats Lisa McInnis owner and director of Bikram Yoga Mississauga

OMB: What was your first class experience, and what did you think after?

My first class was in August 2008; although I did not return and fully commit until November 2008. The class was tough to say the least. I couldn’t wait for it to be over! Perhaps this is why it took me so long to come back.

It was my experience after the class that was the most memorable

A student came up to me and said, “welcome to your new life.”  I didn’t know what she meant at the time, but once I committed to a regular practice and began experiencing the health-boosting benefits, I quickly understood.

Today, with the dream of Bikram Yoga Mississauga coming into fruition, the words spoken to me on that first day seem all the more powerful

OMB: Why do you like it hot?

I am otherwise always so cold!  I have always loved the heat and am thrilled to have found a way to spend such extended periods of time in it!

OMB: What was it like teaching your first class?

80% exciting; 20% scary – or 80% scary, 20% exciting – I am not too sure. All I know is that many emotions were present!  Overall, nerves aside, I loved it!  As always, the students at Bikram Yoga Beaches were incredibly supportive.

OMB: What did you do before you were a yoga teacher?

I have a Business undergrad and was working as a Marketing Manager

OMB: Why open a studio?

I love Bikram Yoga, simply put. It has had a profound impact on my own health and well being and I want nothing more than to help spread this powerful, therapeutic yoga to as many people as possible.  Opening a studio is a great way to bring the Yoga to a community where it is not yet available

OMB: Why Mississauga?

It is a community where it is not yet available🙂

OMB: What is the inspiration behind your space?

I want my space to be welcoming and calming, as the yoga studio has always been a relaxing, safe place for me.  I want to create a space that will allow people to leave their world behind them for a short period of time and focus on improving their health and well-being in a caring, supportive environment.

OMB: What do you envision your studio becoming?

An amazing community of people sharing and growing together.

OMB: Why should Mississaugans ditch their fitness routine and join BYM?

It is absolutely the best thing you can do for yourself – physically, mentally, emotionally.  The only way to truly understand is to do it!  Mississauga, you HAVE TO try this yoga!!

OMB: What is the best and worst part of being a yoga instructor?

Best part: Hearing incredible stories from students about how the yoga is helping to improve their lives

Worst part:  How can I say anything bad about what is arguably the greatest job in the world!

OMB: What is your favorite song?

What a Wonderful World – my wedding song🙂

OMB: What is your most prized possession?

Forrest – My 2-year old Golden Retriever

OMB: What is the first thing you think of when you wake up in the morning?

Either my husband, Mike, or my dog, Forrest.  Depending on which way I am facing, one of their faces is the first thing I see when I open my eyes :)  Where your eyes go, your mind will follow.

OMB: What do you want to be when you grow up?

A Bikram Yogi

OMB: You’re stuck in an elevator by yourself with one song playing on repeat, and one snack to pass the time. What song and what snack is it?

Sitting, Waiting, Wishing by Jack Johnson – after all, that is exactly what I would be doing!

My favourite snack to help pass the time would definitely be licorice

OMB: What is your most embarrassing yoga moment?

Face diving into the carpet at teachers training, trying way too hard to touch my head to the floor during Standing Separate Leg Stretching!  I had a very noticeable scratch above my lip from weeks 3 through 5!

Leave a comment

Filed under Q & A

Leave a Reply

